The Bag Is Done!

Woo hoo!  My first project knitted in the round, my first period SCA project, and my first attempt at stranded colorwork. It’s done, and I am really thrilled with how it came out.

This was knitted in the round with a DK weight silk/wool blend, on size 5 needles.  The drawstring is fingerlooped (a lace bend round of 8 bowes) with silk.  I didn’t note the weight or type, but it was the finest I could find in the colors I wanted.  Next time, I’ll make note of these things so I can find it again.

I made the bag using Chris Laning’s instructions, substituting a simple diamond pattern both because I wanted this to be correct for a European persona and because this was my first time ever doing stranding.

I also found examples of knitted Elizabethan items with diamond motifs. (Not that I have the links on this computer, unfortunately.)

If there’s software for doing color charts, I want it. I ended up mapping this out in Excel, which was obnoxiously time-consuming. For repeating patterns, though, I found that once I had the basic idea, I was looking at the row above rather than at the color chart.

Diamond Patterned Bag
There it is--isn't it spiffy!
A close-up of the bag's drawstring, green and gold fingerloop braid
Here's the drawstring close up.
Close up of the bag, with my hand included for scale.
And here's a close-up of the pattern, using my hand to show the size.
Leave a Reply

