Color Chart – Cross Bottony

I made a color chart for a cross bottony. (That’s the style of cross with 3 round balls on each end of the cross, and it’s also part of my SCA barony’s heraldry.) So, yay! Now to actually knit something with it.

I based the chart on on Nancy Spies’ color chart of a 13th century border from an altar embroidery, in her book Here Be Wyverns. (This book is a really awesome resource for medieval and Renaissance patterns. There are borders, animals, people–all sorts of things charted onto nice graphs.) The original is a leafy vine border, and each leaf has the “club” shape that’s also found on the ends of a cross bottony. So, I used that leaf as a guide for the exact sizing and spacing of each part of the cross.

I’m posting this because it may be useful to other knitters (and weavers, cross-stitchers, and anybody else who would find a pattern in grid form helpful) in and out of the SCA. It’s a fairly common heraldic item that I haven’t seen color charts for. It’s also on the Maryland flag (which is actually where my group’s heraldry comes from) and is used in religious contexts (where it’s also called a budded cross or an Apostles’ Cross.)

The Chart: Cross Bottony

Anyone who wants to use this chart to make anything, in any medium, for profit or not, has my full permission to do so. (Technically, I don’t think I have any legal standing to tell you that you *can’t*; it’s my understanding that the creator of a pattern has legal rights over the pattern itself, not over things made with that pattern.). The only use of this pattern that I expressly do not permit is claim credit for or resell the chart itself. (Feel free to post it on your own site with credit and a link back here or to my Ravelry page.)

Nancy Spies gave permission for the patterns in Here Be Wyverns to be used non-commercially. She expressly forbids any commercial use of her patterns without prior permission. Since my pattern is based on one of hers, but is not a copy, I don’t *think* you would need her permission to use this pattern for any commercial purpose. But, I’m neither a copyright lawyer nor a professional crafter, so don’t mistake my best understanding for an expert opinion. (If I ever choose to make something for sale from this pattern, I will ask her as a courtesy. What you technically have to do and what you should do aren’t necessarily the same thing.)

Leave a Reply

